Cymraeg icon Cymraeg
Heather Warner - Lifetime Achievement Award

Sporting achievements celebrated at the Sport Pembrokeshire Awards 2023

Llwyddiannau chwaraeon yn cael eu dathlu yng Ngwobrau Chwaraeon Sir Benfro 2023

The remarkable achievements of Pembrokeshire’s sporting community were celebrated at a glittering awards ceremony on Friday evening, November 24th.

The Sport Pembrokeshire Awards 2023 were held at Folly Farm and paid tribute to efforts both on and off the pitch by sports people, coaches and volunteers alike.

Record nominations had been received as the awards continue to go from strength to strength.

The judges had an extremely difficult task to whittle the numbers firstly down to finalists and then deserving winners.

The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award was race walking star Heather Warner who has represented both Wales and Team GB at the highest levels.

A Pembrokeshire Harrier, Heather soon discovered a natural talent for race walking and it was no surprise that a collection of local and national titles followed.

Welsh and Team GB vests at both junior and senior level were the natural progression in her career.

Heather collected a fantastic seventh place in the Commonwealth Games in 2018 on Australia’s Gold Coast and a British record followed in Birmingham four years later to go with a brilliant sixth place.

While competing around the world Heather has always continued to coach at Pembrokeshire Harriers and passing on the breadth of her knowledge and experience and is a worthy winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2023.

“Heather's outstanding success, coupled with an obvious desire to one day guide others, can only help raise the profile of the sport in a positive way,” said Geoff Williams from BBC Wales, who presented Heather with her award.

The winner of the Chairman’s Special Achievement Award, presented by Cllr Thomas Tudor, was Makala Jones.

Makala has taught cold water confidence and a proper swimming technique to countless people of all ages in Pembrokeshire, enabling them to enjoy the coastline all year round. She also successfully swum the English channel solo in July this year.

She has been described as a legend, an inspiration, a real-life super hero, great fun to be around, a role model proving you can achieve your dreams and an incredibly strong and helpful human being.

In presenting her award, Cllr Tudor said what makes her so special is her passion for sharing the benefits of outdoor swimming for improved mental health.

This year the School Award was won by Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi.

The judges were impressed by the wide range of sports and activities provided by and hosted by Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi and how the school is a focal point for sports health and wellbeing in the St Davids community and surrounding areas.

Under Headteacher Rachel Thomas and Head of Wellbeing Bruce Evans, young people are given the opportunity to try a wide variety of sports and activities to embed a love of staying active and protecting the natural environment from an early age.

It was also a significant evening with the announcement that host Bill Carne would be retiring after 17 years presenting the awards.

Matt Freeman from Sport Pembrokeshire paid tribute to his dedication and professionalism over the years.

“Bill Carne has become synonymous with the Sport Pembrokeshire Awards and is rightly regarded as the voice of sport in Pembrokeshire,” he said.

“Sport Pembrokeshire are truly honoured to have had his support at the awards for all these years along with his wider support in advocating and raising the profile of the work that Sport Pembrokeshire team do across the county.

“Bill can now retreat from the stage and enjoy the evening from the audience’s vantage point and enjoy the spectacle that is the Sport Pembrokeshire awards.”

The full list of winners is as follows: 

  • Girls (U16) Sporting Achievement: Josie Hawke
  • Boys (U16) Sporting Achievement: Ramon Rees-Siso
  • Club of the Year: Pembroke Cricket Club
  • Junior Disability Sport Award: Saskia Webb
  • Disability Sport Award: Bleddyn Gibbs
  • Young Volunteer of the Year: Elizabeth Clissold
  • Junior (U16) Team Achievement of the Year: South Pembs Sharks U14s
  • Unsung Hero: Dave Astins
  • Team Achievement of the Year: Haverfordwest County AFC
  • Male Sporting Achievement: Micky Beckett
  • Female Sporting Achievement: Gracie Griffiths
  • Club Organiser of the Year: Stefan Jenkins
  • Coach of the Year: Samantha Feneck


Full list of winners and finalists (in alphabetical order)


Girls (U16) Sporting Achievement

Josie Hawke - winner     

Chloe John-Driscoll

Nina Marsh  


Boys (U16) Sporting Achievement

Finley Bruce 

Reuben Lerwill       

Ramon Rees-Siso  - winner      


Club of the Year

Haverfordwest Tennis Club         

Pembroke Cricket Club - winner         

Tavernspite Short Mat Bowls Club         


Disability Sport Award

Bleddyn Gibbs - winner            

Michael Jenkins     

Jules King              


Junior Disability Sport Award

Lewis Crawford      

Saskia Webb - winner               

Ioan Williams


Young Volunteer of the Year

Elizabeth Clissold - winner      

Ellie Phillips  

Lukas Tyrrell


Junior (U16) Team Achievement of the Year

Pembrokeshire Schools Football U14’s  

South Pembs Sharks U14’s - winner            

Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi Tennis Team         


Unsung Hero

Dave Astins - winner      

Piers Beckett

Sam Rossiter         


Team Achievement of the Year

Haverfordwest County AFC - winner  

Haverfordwest Ladies Rugby      

Llangwm RFC Youth        


Male Sporting Achievement

Micky Beckett - winner             

Jeremy Cross         

Moritz Neumann     


Female Sporting Achievement

Katie Dickinson      

Gracie Griffiths - winner 

Seren Thorne         


Club Organiser of the Year

Rachel Grieve        

Stefan Jenkins - winner            

Huw Jones   


Coach of the Year

Sam Feneck - winner      

Daisy Griffiths        

Michael Newman    


School Award

Ysgol Penrhyn Dewi


Special Achievement Award

Makala Jones       


Lifetime Achievement Award

Heather Warner    

Notes to editors

Please email if you would like additional award presentation images.